Surgery Sucks…and life goes on.

Well, here I am six days post op and finally able to think a bit more clearly. The pain is still constant but I can think (and type) through the pain finally. I wrote some yesterday for the first time in over a week and am happy with the way the story is going. It’s taking a more alternative or supernatural bend and I like it. Hopefully you will too.

Most of my days have been spent trying to hobble to the bathroom and move my ankle without grimacing in pain. I have succeeded at the first, not so much the second. After having two kids, ankle/leg surgery, acl and meniscus knee repair surgery, and now this ankle/leg surgery again, I still have to say that the knee was the worst. This sucks. Don’t get me wrong. But the knee definitely sucked worse. The worst part about this is the pain everytime I breathe. But enough about my lingering leg issues.

I want to bring light to the recent semicolon tattoo movement. I am utterly enamored with anything that sheds a loving light on the daily struggles people have with mental health. Be it depression, anxiety, addiction…whatever the case may be. I am for it. I personally have struggled with anxiety and depression for most of my adult life. It’s not something you can just turn off when people tell you to lighten up or get over it. It is an ongoing battle to break through the surface of gloom that you are mired under. Sometimes it feels like you can’t breathe and sometimes it feels like your heart is going to break right out of your chest. Other times you feel like you are drowning and can’t reach the light that everyone else can clearly feel. I sit in the sun to soak in the rays of sunshine not only to feed my need for sunshine in my life, but to feed my soul. My soul that cries out for sunshine. To be released from darkness. Enough about me….again.

What I hope is that you will reach out to someone who you can see is suffering and let them know you care.  And that you will be there for them. Both in the darkness and the light. Don’t try to fix them. Just let them know they are not alone. But I digress…

The semicolon tattoo movement is a symbol for those who have battled mental health issues and choose to keep going. Just as a semicolon is used when an author could have chosen to end their sentence but chose not to, the Project Semicolon site reads, “The sentence is your life and the author is you.” It is a beautiful symbol of hope and love to those who struggle daily with these issues. This project movement means so much to me on so many levels. I am not usually one to jump on a bandwagon to follow a group, but this is one instance where I would be proud to display the semicolon on my body.

Peace and love,
Angie

Leave a Reply

