Rise With The Sun

rise with the sun

Many a wise philosopher has made reference to “rise with the sun” and honor the early morning hours, yet so many of us will shift in ire anxious to fall back asleep. To get those last few hours of rest. My question to you today is “Why is that we are waking up so early?” Is it only our physical body alerting us to some basic functions that need to be addressed as some cultures would suggest or is it something more spiritual?

Perhaps the universe has beautiful secrets to share with us that can only be heard in the quiet hours before the rest of the world wakes up. Before the world becomes alive with so much noise. Too much noise. One of my favorite poets and philosophers is Rumi. Each morning, as my eyes pop open at 4am and I am tempted to roll over and go back to sleep, I hear this poem clearly in my mind:

The breezes at dawn have secrets to tell you.

Don’t go back to sleep!
You must ask for what you really want.
Don’t go back to sleep!
People are going back and forth across the door sill where the two worlds touch,
The door is round and open.
Don’t go back to sleep!”

It is then that I try to listen for the messages that are surely awaiting me. It is then that I endeavor to calm my mind before it can begin to ruminate on all of the menial tasks and lists in my head. And it is then that I find my peace to carry me through my days.

Often I will lay in bed, with my body still, just waiting for wisdom to be whispered to my soul. Other times I will sit up, and begin my formal meditation. Enjoying the stillness of the hour, the quiet solitude in a chaotic world normally filled with sound. One of my favorite moments is when I can hear the birds begin to wake up. Hear them slowly showering the world with the gift of their beautiful voices before the harsh sounds of suburbia intrude. It is such a beautiful experience to truly listen.

These early morning meditations, or moments of solitude, are a blessing. Something I wish to share with the world. I would like to extend an invitation from the universe, God, your higher power…whatever speaks to you…to listen. The answers we seek are always there for us. Sometimes we just need to listen in the silence.

Have a beautiful life!

Wishing you peace, love, and light,

Angie

 

 

Leave a Reply

